they would speak a thousand things

Why Mercy Multiplied?

Why Mercy Multiplied? It’s where the freedom’s at.Mercy Multiplied

This week I have been reflecting on my time at Mercy Multiplied (formerly Mercy Ministries until 2015). A friend of mine asked me if I recommend Mercy as a resource for someone struggling with cutting, addiction, depression, eating disorders or abuse, and why choose Mercy as the place to work through your issues. So to every woman who feels stuck in her addiction, trapped by her situation, or controlled by her behaviors, I want you to know that you can be happy, healthy, and best of all released from your bondage, and Mercy is one of the best tools to help you accomplish freedom.

Mercy Multiplied  is a free, nonprofit Christian organization dedicated to helping young women break free from life-controlling behaviors and situations, including eating disorders, self-harm, drug and alcohol addictions, unplanned pregnancy, depression, sexual abuse, and sex trafficking. The amazing staff work with the goal that everyone can experience God’s unconditional love, forgiveness, and life-transforming power.

The age restrictions are 18-28 years old, for women only of course. The only exception is if she’s pregnant, and then they accept age 13-17 for that situation also. They have 4 locations all over the country, and the closest is the house I went to, in Lincoln CA. The program is amazing and supportive, they focus on helping you find and work through the root of your problems and resolve them and they also equip you to handle the outside world in a healthier way than you have in the past.

hardest part of journey is believing you're worth the trip

Mercy offers hope and freedom but the transformation from pain and addiction to restoration is not without challenges – I know from struggling for years with depression, self-harm and suicidal thoughts that asking for help, taking the hard road of health and healing, and working through all your issues is not an easy or fast process. But I can promise you that it is worth the journey.

I would absolutely recommend Mercy to anyone struggling with the above life-controlling issues or anyone who knows someone that is struggling. Check out their website at http://mercymultiplied.com/. One thing you should know if you know someone who is struggling is that Mercy is completely voluntary. Only the woman struggling with life-controlling behaviors or situations can apply to go to Mercy. This is not an organization that will accept a woman who is being forced into facing her issues and being healed. She has to truly want to go, want to put in the work and want to be FREE from whatever it is that’s crushing her happiness and success in life. On the same side of the coin, if she goes to Mercy and feels the program is not helping her find the freedom she wants, she has the power to leave at any time – Mercy is not about forcing anyone to find freedom if she doesn’t want it. But for those who sincerely want to find freedom from bondage, God is waiting to freely give it to you! Freedom is entirely possible for those who seek it, no matter what.free on the cliff

In my opinion, Mercy Multiplied is the best possible place you could go if you want to find help and healing from any destructive behavior or choices in your life. On a practical level, their program is very well thought-out, very organized and well-balanced. They provide everything you could need to be successful in life – from fitness to inspirational books on freedom to healthy diet to cooking and cleaning skills etc. – before sending you back out into the world. AND it’s free! Mercy is 100% run on donations from churches, organizations and individuals who believe in helping young women find freedom and hope! I am constantly amazed at the generosity of the donors and that because of their love for young women, Mercy exists to give hope and healing to anyone who asks without making a profit off our problems. I didn’t realize until after I graduated Mercy that the staff truly cared about my well-being and were there because they wanted to help and support me rather than coming to work just to get paid. Working with young women who are wrestling with tough issues are not always very easy to deal with, but even though it may be tough, the staff come to work because they want to help you. And that is a rare and beautiful thing in this jaded, secular world. 

The website has a wealth of information about the founder Nancy Alcorn (I’ve met her, she’s amazing!) the program, FAQs, and it is also where you can find the application. When I applied to Mercy I still wasn’t sure I really wanted to go. I applied, got accepted, got placed in a house, and got dropped off at the Lincoln house by my mom. Even on the day I arrived at Mercy I still wasn’t sure I wanted to be there. I was terrified. But I was desperate enough to stop cutting that I decided to try it with the hope that this program would help set me free, and by the immeasurable Grace of God, I am transformed, loved, forgiven and free today.

If you have any further questions about Mercy or my experience there, I’m happy to answer them! Comment below or contact me through email at leannewatkins14@gmail.com

{Stay Anchored in Christ. Hebrews 6:19}

life's roughest storms prove the strength of our anchors

 

6 responses

  1. Kimberly Watkins

    Hi Leanne, Can you put Stephie to receive your blog? She is a subscriber for the ‘if scars could talk’ but she doesn’t get your new posts.

    Love you, Momma

    Per Angusta Ad Augusta (“through difficulties to honors”)

    Kimberly Kimberly Watkins Classical Conversations Challenge Director 925-518-5783

    May 6, 2016 at 11:57 am

  2. Beth

    Seeing you change from your experience there was miraculous. You are an amazing woman whom I am proud to know. I prayed for you while you were there and still do. I miss you!

    April 21, 2016 at 6:54 am

  3. Couldn’t agree more!
    I just love how you have been transformed, and now can share with others your amazing journey!
    I know the only time I “met” you was when you were still in your mommy’s tummy! LOL! However you have grabbed my heart, and I pray for you more than you’ll ever know!
    Thanks for being YOU!

    Cari

    April 20, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    • Thanks Cari! I appreciate your feedback and encouragement 🙂

      April 20, 2016 at 8:42 pm

      • Exclusive Me

        Hi….I have applied for mercy, but am not completely sure I want to go…..my pastor and my family are pressuring me in going. And I am just not entirely sure it’s for me…I am not really a Christian… so I don’t know if I should complete the application process….. I guess I am just curious, I have read a lot about mercy, good reviews and bad, and I instant seem to make up my mind about it.

        May 12, 2016 at 10:47 pm

      • Hi Exclusive Me, When I went to Mercy I wasn’t sure I wanted to go but I still applied because I knew I needed help and that it would be a safe place where people cared about me and my health instead of their personal agenda. Please don’t let others pressure you into going. It should be your decision but know that if you end up going and later find Mercy isn’t working for you, you will be completely free to leave at ANY time. I know from experience that Mercy is a place that completely changes lives, but you have to be willing to go and be open to change in order for that transformation to happen in your life. I think if you are still on the fence about applying or not, at least some part of you thinks Mercy could make a difference in your life. Hold on to that hope!! When I applied for Mercy I was scared but it was SO worth it to go. Don’t listen to the negativity and bad ‘reviews’. Everyone is entitled to their own experience, but I would rather you go and decide for yourself if it is right for you than to be put off by negative comments without seeing what Mercy is like for yourself. It is absolutely not a requirement for you to be a Christian in order to go to Mercy. Just know that it is a Christian-based program and they will talk about Jesus, the Bible, hope, mercy and salvation. All that means is that the staff at Mercy truly do love you and only want to help you succeed and be joyful in your life instead of being chained and trapped to destructive habits. I am sorry this is long, I’m a writer. In my opinion, it doesn’t hurt you any if you complete the application process and get accepted in a Mercy home. If all that happens you are still not obligated to go there. But I want to encourage you to finish the application, it could make a huge difference in your life! For me, the decision to go to Mercy wasn’t easy, but it made the difference between life and death. In fact, May 10th was my 5 year anniversary of the day I went to Mercy. I’m still alive because of the love and healing I experienced there!
        If you would like to talk more or have any questions, feel free to email me at leannewatkins14@gmail.com

        May 12, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Let me know what you think!

